Career Starts Now!

Career Starts Now!

You never know these days. Uninvited guests may force you to take an unplanned trip to an unknown destination; doesn’t hurt to be in your Sunday clothes ― Anurag Shourie.

career goals image

My journey with the Outreachy internship, InterMine organization, and Open Source contributions is approaching its final destination. It has been an enriching and rewarding experience that helped me grow as a professional and human. I was lucky enough to be part of a caring community and learn from the best. Now it is time for me to think about what comes next! What are my short and long-term career goals? Do I even have such goals?

Honestly, I have a blurry vision of what is next, and I don't have any solid plans for my next career steps. I have several degrees in different engineering disciplines, and I am quite confused about which path will best suit me. I enjoy working and volunteering in tech companies; however, I currently started to feel distracted and consumed as I do lots of different things simultaneously. I've just completed a full-time software development program; I work part-time in a data analysis job, contribute to an open-source project as a full-time intern, take care of a family, and volunteer for a STEM-related girls program. I am literally struggling to keep everything in place, leaving me no time to focus on my career.

girl no image

Well, it doesn't hurt to focus on the tasks at hand and postpose everything else. Once I am done with my internship, I think about taking some time off to recharge and relax. I need some stress free time to clear my mind and think about all possible paths. I need to limit my career options to things that I love to do rather than make more money. Working in something close to my heart will help me be creative and more productive. I am also considering to continue contributing to open-source projects because it is significant to participate in projects that benefit a lot of people around the globe.

Till I find my perfect plan, I will be open to all possibilities, ready unplanned trips to unknown destinations with uninvited guests wearing my Sunday Clothes!

Sunday mood